Vegetarian and an Aspiring Vegan: Ingredients and other things to look out for and where to Find them

Here are some ingredients that should put Vegans on alert!

• Additives – see E-Numbers
• Albumen – found in egg whites, used as a food binder. May come from caged/barn eggs, see Laying Hens
• Alcohol – some drinks are fined/clarified using animal ingredients, see Alcohol
• Alpaca – animal derived clothing material, see Clothing
• Ambergris – obtained from the intestine of sperm whale, used in perfumes.
• Anchovies – small fish, found on pizzas and in some brands of Worcester sauce.
• Angora – rabbit derived clothing material, see Clothing
• Animal Fat – rendered tissue fats obtained from a variety of animals.
• Aspic – savoury jelly derived from meat or fish, used as a glazing agent.

• Bone – used in bone china and cutlery handles. Related image
• Bread – most large producers use vegetable based emulsifiers (E471, E472 etc), but local bakers may not.
• Breakfast cereals – often fortified with vitamin D3.
• Bristles – stiff animal hair, used in brushes (paint/shaving)
• Butter – Unadulterated butter is suitable for vegetarians.

• Capsules – usually made from gelatine, vegetarian alternatives are becoming widely available.
• Cashmere – Animal derived clothing material, see Clothing.
• Catering/Cookery – training may require the handling of meat, see Vegetarian Society Cookery School 
• Caviar/Roe Fish eggs – the fish must be killed to obtain the eggs.
• Cheese – may have been produced using animal rennet, see Cheese Production 
• Chips – may have been fried in animal fat.
• Chitin – produced from crab & shrimp shells. Image result for chitin
• Chocolate – may contain whey/emulsifiers, see Cheese Production & E-Numbers.
• Cochineal E120 – made from crushed insects, see E-Numbers.
• Crisps – Can contain whey powder which may be derived using animal rennet, see Cheese Production.

• Down – from slaughtered ducks/geese or live plucking, see Clothing.
• Dripping – melted animal fat, used for frying.

• E Numbers – European food additive numbering system, not all are vegetarian, see E-Numbers.
• Eggs – some vegetarians may wish to avoid battery eggs and/or barn eggs. The Vegetarian Society does not approve products containing eggs other than those free range, see Vegsoc Approved
• Emulsifiers – may not be vegetarian, see E-Numbers.

• Fast Food – Bean/Vegetable burgers may be cooked alongside meat/fish products.
• Fatty Acids – may be of animal or vegetable origin, see E-Numbers 
• Feathers – see Clothing
• Felt – made from wool/fur, see Clothing
• Fig – A fruit. Some varieties are pollinated by fig wasps, which then die inside the fruit. The fig plant then absorbs the wasp. This process is a natural part of the fig plant’s lifecycle. Some of the most commonly available varieties of figs, however, do not require pollination (e.g. Kadota and Black Mission).
• Fur – see Clothing

• Gelatin(e) – a gelling agent derived from animal ligaments, skins, tendons, bones etc. Image result for gelatine
• Glycerine/Glycerol – see E-numbers – 422
• Gravy – vegetarian gravy mixes are available.

• Honey- avoided by vegans.

• Ice Cream – may contain whey powder, non-dairy fats, E-numbers, eggs.
• Isinglass – a fining agent derived from the swim bladders of certain tropical fish, see Alcohol.

• Jelly – may contain gelatine.

• Lactose – produced from milk, see Cattle
• Lanolin – produced from sheep’s wool. Used to make vitamin D3, see Sheep
• Leather – see Clothing
• Lecithin – mostly produced from soya beans, can be produced from eggs, see Laying Hens

• Margarines – may contain animal fats, fish oils, vitamin D3, E-numbers, whey, gelatine.
• Mohair – animal derived clothing material, see Clothing

•    Oleic acid – fatty acid from either vegetable/animal fats, used in cosmetics.
•    Pepsin – enzyme found in animals gastric juice, may be used in cheese making, see Cheese Production
•    Photography – photographic film uses gelatine and some high quality photo papers.
•    Rennet – an enzyme taken from the stomach of a newly killed calf used in the cheese making process, see Cheese Production
•    Restaurants – may serve non-vegetarian cheese, battery eggs, stock. See Food & Drink Guild for local restaurants.
•    Seedling Symbol – products carrying the Vegetarian Society’s seedling symbol have been thoroughly checked to ensure they are suitable for vegetarians.

•    Shellac – A resin secreted by the female lac bug. See FAQ’s page.

•    Shoes – Quality synthetic shoes are becoming more widely available.

•    Silk – harvesting silk used in clothing causes the death of the silk worm, see  Clothing

•    Soap – can contain sodium tallowate which is derived from animal fat. Glycerin, and stearic acid in soap can be of animal origin, though are often plant derived or synthetic.

•    Sodium tallowate – made from rendered animal fat (tallow) and found in soap.

•    Soft Drinks – some orange drinks use gelatine (not listed in the ingredients) as a carrier for added Beta Carotene, see E-Numbers.

•    Stearic Acid – see E-NumbersImage result for animal fat

•    Stock – may contain animal fat.

•    Suet – may be made from animal fat, vegetable versions are available.

•    Sweets – may contain gelatine/E120.

•    Tallow – rendered animal fat, similar to lard, usually derived from cows or sheep. Used in traditional candle making and, in the form of sodium tallowate, in soap production. The English polymer five pound note issued in September 2016 contains tallow.

•    Toothpaste – some brands contain glycerine. See E-number 422  for more information.

•    Vegan – The Vegan Society produces ‘The Animal Free Shopper’ which lists products suitable for vegans.
•    Vitamin D3 – derived from the lanolin from sheeps’ wool therefore only D3 which is guaranteed sourced from wool sheared from live sheep is considered acceptable.

•    Whey/Whey Powder – by product of cheese making, see Cheese Production

•    Wool – see ClothingImage result for yogurt

•    Worcester Sauce – most brands contain anchovies though vegetarian versions are available.
•    Yoghurts – some low fat yoghurts may contain gelatin

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s